Jazz Events Calendar

Brooklyn Jazz Hall of Fame™

The Brooklyn Jazz Hall of Fame, created in 1999, is a trademark and presentation of the Central Brooklyn Jazz Consortium. The program consists of a ceremony immortalizing a Brooklyn musician(s) with notable accomplishments; the Deacon Leroy Applin Young Lion(ess) Award presented to a standout performing artist from the borough; several individuals recognized who made noted contributions to central Brooklyn’s jazz community.  The hall of fame is a testimonial to the people, venues, and events which put “Brooklyn Jazz” into the consciousness of admirers of this art form.


Brooklyn Jazz Hall of Fame Members:

Internationally acclaimed artists and those heralded in the community are recognized by this hall of fame. The musicians are selected based on their contributions on and off the stage.  Hall of fame artists utilize their divine given talents to uplift the people through song and for social change.  The following names are genuine heroines/heroes in Brooklyn.


Lena Horne, Max Roach, Cecil Payne, Eubie Blake, Randy Weston, James Hawthorne “Chief Bey”, Art Blakey, Betty Carter, Joe Carroll, Kenny Durham, Gigi Gryce, Ernie Henry, Wynton Kelly, Ahmed Abdul Malik, Cal Massey, Carmen McRae, John Ore, Noel Pointer, Betty Roche, Clifton Smalls, Hazel Scott, C. Scoby Stroman, Cedar Walton, Mary Lou Williams, Reggie Workman, Stanley Banks, Kenny Barron, Bob Cunningham, Leonard Gaskin, Freddie Hubbard, Montego Joe, Kenny Kirkland, Bill Lee, Herbie Mann, Ronnie Mathews, Larry Ridley, James Spaulding, Roland Alexander, Alex Blake, Wesley “Wally” Gator, Gerald Hayes, H. Mattathias Pearson, Ulysses Slaughter.